Back in 2002, Paul Seele launched a radio show on the University of Cape Town’s campus station. Native Noise focused on promoting South African music with an ethos of ‘thinking globally by support locally’. During a two year run, Paul interviewed over 165 local artists, promoting the country’s top acts as well as showcasing upcoming talent. The Native Noise radio show ended on a high note with the release of The Native Noise Acoustic Collection, a free MP3 album featuring some of the best songs performed live on the show.

In November 2009 Native Noise partnered with Musketeer Records for the release of ‘Native Noise Collection Vol. 1 – The Seether Sessions’. The album features a collection of rarities by South Africa’s most successful rock band on a 2CD set available exclusively in South Africa.

Disc 1 of ‘The Seether Sessions’ kicks off with the new song, ‘No Shelter’, a b-side from the gold selling hit album ‘Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces’. The disc continues with recordings from the band’s iTunes Originals sessions, previously unavailable in South Africa. Seether discusses their career from 1999 to 2008 alongside rare acoustic versions of songs including the hits ‘Fake It’, ‘Broken’ and ‘Rise Above This’. Fans will also be treated to covers of The Beatles’ ‘Across the Universe’ and Cole Porter’s ’I’ve Got You Under My Skin’ (made famous by Frank Sinatra) performed in Seether’s unique style.

A second disc captures the band’s live acoustic performance at the Grape Street Club, as featured in the 2006 release ‘One Cold Night’. The session includes hit singles ’The Gift’, ‘Truth’ and ‘Gasoline’ as well as a cover of Pearl Jam’s ‘Immortality’, fan favourite ‘Sympathetic’ and the early Saron Gas song, ‘Tied My Hands’.

No band could be more apt for the launch of The Native Noise Collection. Seether redefined the way people perceive South African rock and thanks to local support they went on to achieve global greatness. This exclusively South African release will be a valued asset to any Seether fan’s collection.


Disc One

  1. No Shelter
  2. The band started in May 1999
  3. Gasoline
  4. We had to write a single and we didn’t know what that meant
  5. Fine Again (iTunes Originals Version)
  6. We thought we were starting “Karma & Effect”
  7. Broken (iTunes Originals Version)
  8. We did “Sold Me” at the same time as “Broken”
  9. Sold Me
  10. The original title was “Cater To Cowards”
  11. Remedy (iTunes Originals Version)
  12. He was the number one fan
  13. Fake It (iTunes Originals Version)
  14. I was feeling nostalgic
  15. Rise Above This (iTunes Originals Version)
  16. I picked it for the chorus
  17. Across the Universe (iTunes Originals Version)
  18. The song is kinda creepy
  19. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (iTunes Originals Version)
Disc Two (One Cold Night)

  1. Gasoline
  2. Driven Under
  3. Diseased
  4. Truth
  5. Immortality
  6. Tied My Hands
  7. Sympathetic
  8. Fine Again
  9. Broken
  10. The Gift
  11. Remedy
  12. Plastic Man
  13. The Gift [Alternate Mix]